I’m the one in the electric blue silk trousers…

I prefer to go my own way...

I prefer to go my own way…

I am a single woman who has not been on a date in 15 years. I am not lying. I’ve always fallen from one friendship turned relationship to another without any gap in the flow. Until now. And I’ve been in this gap absolutely dateless for over 2 years.

As a result, I have no idea what the etiquette is when meeting someone for the first time in a random coffee shop.

While this meeting was not actually a first date – it definitely felt like one. I met her online (!) and we agreed to meet to discuss our future relationship together in a public place. After I got off the phone, I realized that she would have no idea who I was. How would we know who we were amongst the seemingly high number of individuals sitting alone at tables. Would I have to go up to each and ask if she were waiting for me? I’d be mortified! Should I tell her what I would be wearing so I am easier to be identified and then she could wave at me as I walked in and we would look like old friends who haven’t seen each other for a really long time…

This was how I met my photographer for the first time. What can I say, I tend to over-think things sometimes.

Thankfully I let my thoughts run wild exclusively inside my head and kept my composure as I wandered in (slightly late) all while scanning for any sign of photographic material or equipment that would somehow make her that much more identifiable. Alas, I am not that lucky. But much to my relief, all the single tables were occupied by men and she was the only woman in the place. Phew. Then I realized that I had just stumbled upon a mini-mecca of single men…for another time I guess. Business first.

And she’s lovely! What a catch! We hit it off immediately and are getting together again next week! Success! šŸ™‚

What do you think?

