My Childhood Fashion Idol is Jem from the Holograms.

My childhood fashion idol

My childhood fashion idol

She is gorgeous. She can sing and dance. And she has a killer body with pink hair, always fighting against the jealousy of others. I am a child of the 80’s and as such, she was my idol every Saturday morning.

This venture though has left me pondering all of my fashion inspirations; those people or events who have left an indelible mark on my desires and psyche. These inspirations have come in many different forms over the years – from people, to fictional characters, to art and life. They are too many to list here. But their impact has been both clear and subliminal all at once and I am thankful for my exposure to them all.

Their common thread seems to be that they all possess a strong sense of individuality – that feeling of going against the grain. Of simply expressing themselves without any fear of what others may be doing or thinking. They always seem to be going their own way.

As a result, all my fashion choices for my own closet have been directed in this same way. I always seek the most coveted of pieces. Nothing brings me greater pleasure then when a stranger stops me in the street demanding to know where I had aquired such an item. I love being known as having a killer wardrobe. And I work very hard at selecting and creating each piece for their uniqueness and beauty.

As a result, my greatest fear is not public speaking. It’s not nudity. It’s losing my luggage at the airport.

My eye is naturally drawn to the unique and interesting. And like most things in life, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. But that doesn’t mean that I will ever give up trying.

And I now have been given carte-blanche to create whatever my little heart desires…

What do you think?

